August 14th – The Day That Would Never Come

I’ll get back to my other series, but because of the special meaning of these dates to me, I wanted to share this. It is a repost from several years ago.  “10 years ago” has now become “14 years ago”.  And we find ourselves on the brink of another move: back to the East coast.  Coming full circle!

August 14th has a special place in my heart for reminding me that things do happen eventually and if I’m just patient enough, things will come in their right time and place.

More specifically, August 14th, 1999.

I was in 9th grade and had just survived a move from Nebraska to Virgina a year earlier.  The sole fact that I was in middle school and middle schoolers generally have a difficult

time anywhere was probably enough to make me hate Virginia, but at that the fact that everyone thought I was a farm girl and cows roamed freely in Nebraska, I was made fun of for my way cool Saudi Arabian backpack, had to leave my new found best friend back in Nebraska, I was kicked off my Odyessy of the Mind team upon arrival in Virginia, we stopped going to church, AND I wore glasses (oh the horror!), Virginia never even had a chance.

My only saving grace was the fact that I knew we were moving soon.  The following year we got orders to Belgium.  Brussels, Belgium.  I remember having to look up where Belgium was on the map (its in Europe, I think?).  “Hmm…that seems like an odd place,” I remember thinking.  I don’t think I had any preconceived notions about Belgium.  I don’t think I’d ever even heard of it!   That didn’t matter.  All that mattered was we were moving.  Somewhere else.

And we were moving on August 14th.

For MONTHS I looked forward to that date.  But I never thought it would actually happen.  We were supposed to move cool places before, like Nevada and Italy, and that always ended up falling through.  Of course this would fall through too.   For months I couldn’t will August 14th to come fast enough.

But it eventually it did.

And that was 10 years ago.

Somehow every year on August 14th I think about little 14 year old me, waiting so impatiently.  Dragging on each day just to get that day where now life can begin.  Anyone who knows me knows how impatient I am still.  I don’t think I’ll ever completely change.  But I do try to calm it down a little and realize that eventually your August 14th does come.  Whether its the date for your wedding that you’ve been looking forward to your whole life, a move (into a new house), a graduation (from the never-ending graduate degree) or the time to begin the next phase of your life, your August 14th it really will come.

And before you know it, you’ll be looking back 10 years later and think,

Wow.  If I knew August 14th was going to come to quickly, what else could I have been doing in the meantime?

***Interestingly enough, I also remember arriving in Belgium on August 15th, discovering that we couldn’t do anything because everything was closed.  I didn’t get why at the time, but years later I discovered that its the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Makes me think that such a memorable day in my life is also one of the most holy days in the Roman Catholic Church is just too much to just be a coincidence… ***

3 thoughts on “August 14th – The Day That Would Never Come

  1. Wow…cool story! Love the dates connections. Thanks for re-sharing. I never read the story the first time around. Best of luck with your cross-country move. Can’t wait to read your reflections on it all. We’re moving this weekend too:-) Oh, and I was in Odyssey of the Mind in junior high as well!

Leave a Reply

