My garden in July

Back by popular demand…(from all 2 of you, ha!)

Unfortunately, organic gardening is not all it’s cracked up to be. I didn’t get a picture of the peas before I finally pulled them all out, but they went chalky white before they went dry and brown, from the stem up. Not quite sure what that was about, but I thought it was strange it happened from the stem up, almost like root rot? But everything around them was nice and green. Maybe we got a harvest of 15 snap peas, so we were pretty much rolling in it over here. But once all the stalks went brown, I tore them out, in case it was a fungus and could transfer to the squash and cucumbers.

Our tomatoes continue to grow like crazy, but the truth is they don’t taste the greatest. I might opt for a plant with less production next year if it means they taste better. There is something eating the tomatoes and I think it came from the cherry tomato plant, which was never that healthy to begin with. I’ve also learned to splurge and buy the biggest possible tomato cage next year because they grow way bigger than you think they ever could. I went small and cheap, but its just not worth it to have your tomato plant to break in half under its own weight. I’m not exactly sure how to prune a tomato plant so I ended up just chopping off a bunch of limbs everywhere. There’s got to be a more effective method.

So while we have squash, cucumbers, and tomatoes coming out our ears, we are up to a harvest of about 6 strawberries total. Onions are going strong though! I should have planted more. It looks like they can be as close as possible. 6 inches apart my keister…

image

image

image

One benefit to pulling out the peas is that the cucumbers got to climb up and get a better view.

image

image

And the peppers are fiiiinally about ready to pop. Just in time for us to go on our family reunion beach vacation for about 2 weeks.

image

And in miracles of miracles….the watermelon is alive after all! After the last post I dug up the plants and removed the biodegradable pots (which they advertise you can plant directly in the soil). They started growing a little more after that. I’m not sure we will actually see a real live watermelon at the end of this, but at least we have seen some blooms so far.

image

Here’s a little view of what I picked the other day, after I made a tomato and cucumbet salad. Mostly took this picture because I thought the Siamese squash was fun.

image

Additionally, we are about to have a yard full of rotting figs again because I just really have no idea what to do with figs.

And about this whole “next year” gardening…unfortunately it looks like we won’t be doing it in this house or this amazing California climate. We are packing up in a few weeks and taking this show on the road to the east coast. There, it’s internet official! So I’m trying to soak up this gardening thing while I can!

7 thoughts on “My garden in July

  1. You’ve successfully grown more vegetables than I did this year… or ever, really. Way to slip in a big announcement at the end of the post like that! Moving across the country is kind of a big deal. You know, I don’t have first hand knowledge, but it seems like there are people that garden in the East, too. ;)

    • ha, oh you are so right! sorry to leave out so many details. we are 90% surely moving into an apartment, so, there’s that. if we are in anything with any outdoor space you can be I’ll be trying to grow something though! it just doesn’t seem as likely at this point. thanks for saying that so I could clear that up.

  2. Woah, what you waited until the last line to drop that on us…sneaky girl. Hey, and I have done a garden here in the Frozen Tundra in years past. If I can do it here, you certainly can do it on the East Coast. Why stop now, you have a good thing going!

  3. Thanks for the update!

    Gardening is HARD. People don’t realize that. I mean, its not hard in that it’s generally pleasant, satisfying work; but it’s hard to get an abundant harvest. It’s so completely unpredictable. There are so many things working against you. My Mom has been gardening every year for the last two decades and she still finds it hard. I’ve been helping her in the garden as long as I’ve been alive, and I haven’t been able to grow a single decent thing on my own property. (I finally gave up, and am now doing all my gardening at my parents’ house). There are always new obstacles: drought, bugs, rot, mould, soil deficiencies, thieving squirrels, pets digging things up, etc. But you are learning and growing. Way to go! You’ve achieved something pretty awesome!

  4. I always have a lot of enthusiasm for gardening in early spring, when it’s just so exciting to see anything growing outdoors, and then by this time of the year I’m tired of weeding and trimming back out-of-control tomato plants and everything looks a lot more unkempt and scraggly! So I agree, gardening is not for the faint of heart! =) With that said, your cucumbers look amazing. Are you going to make pickles or relish or just eat them all? And too bad about the tomatoes not tasting the best – thankfully there are so many varieties you could try! I love love love cherry tomatoes. I could eat them all day =)

    • Its probably deceiving, but there aren’t actually THAT many cucumbers. So far we’ve just been eating them all! Tomatoes on the other hand…I’d try my hand at canning them if I was braver…

  5. Josh’s relatives make fantastic strawberry-fig preserves. I imagine it wouldn’t be as much work if you froze them rather than canning them, but then there is that whole moving thing. I always feel badly for people who have to move during the summer and abandon their gardens. :-( hopefully you can at least have a patio garden? Having a balcony with herbs made me so much happier this past summer. Not a garden, but much better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

