My garden in May

image

image

image

image

Strawberries and onions in foreground, peppers in the middle, huge tomatoes in the background.

image

Another angle, you can see a strawberry! All the others disappeared…

image

Rhubarb, cilantro (which becomes corriander, who knew?)

image

Better angle on the peas. Some died. Some grew so much that o had to add another “level” on my trellis. It stands over 6 ft now.

image

Cucumbers made a comeback!

image

The squash were shaky for a while. I read that they don’t replant well…after I replanted them. This is the largest and you can see some little squash starting after the blooms last week!

image

The tomatoes are so huge its scary. I originally bought the smallest cages because the plants looked so small (these and the strawberries were the only plants not from seeds) but they outgrew these cages so quickly! Now they are just folding out everywhere, taking over everything. Lots of green tomatoes but no ripe ones yet. Soon…

image

And the watermelon. Whomp whomp. Had to replant it since they weren’t growing very well (I think the area was too shady) but they STILL refuse to grow. Maybe they will soon take off like the squash? Seems like its been long enough to declare defeat.

5 thoughts on “My garden in May

  1. Your garden looks AMAZING! Way to go, Alison! How long have you been gardening? You seem to be a pro!! I’m pretty jealous, both that your garden is so far along (we’ve only got sprouts so far, here in Canada), and that you can do all that in your own back yard (I have to go to my parents’).

    • Thanks! I’ve tried gardening in pots and ALWAYS over water, so this is the first time I’ve planted in the ground and I say its been pretty successful thus far! I did check out about 7 books from the library, and I’m gardening in So Cal, which has to be one of the easier places due to lack of frost, but still! I started a compost pile in January that I added to the boxes as well as organic soil, so I’m wondering if that stuff was the magic ingredient?

  2. The tomatoes are thriving! St. Isidore the farmer, pray for Alison’s watermelon! I don’t know if he is the patron of farming but he was a farmer and he is a saint, so it could work ;)

Leave a Reply

