My garden

I’ve wanted to have a garden in this house for a while, but this year I finally got around to it! I’m proud of what we have going on, so here are a few pictures. Expect more updates as we do or do not yield a harvest! Some are from seeds and other I bought since I didn’t know exactly how successful the seedlings would be after hearing some tales of failure…

image

That’s me and the freshly made bed with the babe.

image

Two beds. And the lead Driller on this project. I’m the manager and designer, he’s the muscles :)

image

First week after planting. They are finally perking up!

image

Foreground in the first bed are tomatoes and strawberries. Store bought. There will be peppers from seedlings in the middle as soon as they are big enough to release into the wild.

image

The second bed is all from seeds! Rhubarb in the foreground, snap peas on the vines, and squash and cucumbers in the back. Crossing my fingers these do something, but I’m already feeling like the rhubarb is off to a good start. Too bad I’m not supposed to harvest it until next year! Yeah, should have read the package closer…

image

Last but not least, my watermelon. Goal is for the vines to grow on the old foundation.
And for those wondering, there used to be a house back there but it got torn down. So now I get to have a garden!

I forgot to mention that there are basil and oregano up there next to the tomatoes.

Now I just have to wait. And water. But not too much. I tend to do that.

8 thoughts on “My garden

  1. So jealous! :) It’s my dream to have a garden too when we have a house with a backyard! A townhouse with a deck doesn’t quite cut it. :)

  2. I’ve actually never wanted a garden myself (though I always thought they sounded like a good idea), but this year, I do wish I could have a garden. But I can’t, so I guess I’ll have to live vicariously through those of you that do have a garden!

  3. It looks great! I have to get Jack to build me something. Mmmm I am with Rebecca the fresh watermelon sounds so good. I can’t wait for you to start to harvest it all :)

  4. Wow, I can’t believe how big everything is! I’m in MD and my cold-weather crops (spinach, kale, peas, etc.) are just starting to come up! I like your homemade trellis =) Good luck with the garden!

  5. Hey, I want your garden! Can you email me some details about how you made your raised bed. I’m starting from scratch at a new house. (I need directions, materials and estimated cost). Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Our (East Coast) garden | Matching Moonheads

Leave a Reply

