Six weeks out

Today Sam and I went in for our 6 week checkup.  My little chunker was up 3 lbs since the 2 week appointment!  That’s 11 lbs 4 oz, and somewhere around 23-23.5 inches.  Which means he doesn’t actually look that chunky.  Apparently I am “healed”, everything looks good, and that was our last appointment with the midwife, until next time.  Until next time?  That’s a thought that’s been going through my head that solicits conflicting responses.

Will there be a next time?

I know, 6 weeks out and its ridiculous that I’m even thinking about this already.  But several people have asked if I’m “fixed” now, in the truest sense of the word (as opposed to how its commonly used).  Other people (ahem, my mom and MIL) both apparently think that I’ll be pregnant again ASAP.  I’m sure other people due too.  Who knows what will happen?  I guess to someone who had trouble getting pregnant, people fail to realize that there are worse things than having two kids close together, if God were to grant that to me.  Granted, now that I realize the work associated with 1 child, I also realize the gravity associated with bringing a child into this world and want to make sure I’m healthy as possible to handle such a situation, but I also know that, should I be granted another child fairly quickly, there could be worse things.  Like never having children at all.  It reminds me of these two posts, both written about a similar topic.

Its amazing how quickly people seem to forget your struggle once you have a kid, which includes people who struggled to have a kid in the first place.  A relative asked if now that we got pregnant, did we decrease the number of children we wanted?  Like, now we only wanted two, right?  Well, not exactly, we just decided to give up on being worried about a number.

And who knows if I’m “fixed”.  I was “fixed” enough to get pregnant once, I guess it could happen again, I don’t see why not.  We have proof of concept, I can have a healthy child to term, that’s huge.  But I also have no idea what’s in the future for us.

I do know that I have a healthy baby boy to our surprise yesterday did a little moonwalk:

and then, while I was trying to capture it, did this, which may look like falling over, but to us was HUGE:

Six weeks suddenly feels like a lifetime.

10 thoughts on “Six weeks out

  1. Hey, I am already pondering what’s ahead after this little one, and he’s got 3 more months of bakin’ in the oven to do! I worry about secondary IF, I ponder how close is “too close” (because like you, I now know there are WAY worse things in life than having children close together), I wonder how I’ll deal once he gets here, I long to give him siblings… goodness gracious! And yes, people make interesting comments too. So you’re not alone! I wish it were easier to just turn my brain off and enjoy the here and now. :)

  2. Hey, whoa! When did you change your blog design?! (I’ve just been reading your posts on my reader.) Looks good!

    Yes, yes, and yes to all of it. I was nervous, on the one hand, that I’d get pregnant right away after she was born, even though it had been so hard with her. Now that I knew how exhausting one was, I knew I’d rather wait if possible. But on the other hand, I worried that I would never be able to have another one (and I definitely want more, Lord willing). As she has gotten older it has slowly changed to just hoping we’ll be able to have more.

    Also: loved the videos! And being able to hear what you sound like! :)

  3. I really like your new blog design! We feel the same way about IF for next time too! I’m not even charting or paying attention to it because, like you said…there are worse things than having two close in age. We were never set on a number and people still ask. I just say, well we don’t have a set number because we realized it was not up to us while we were trying for just one :) I hope to experience a home birth next time. We wanted one this time but the midwife we wanted was going to be out of town two weeks around my due date. We have a new birthing center in our town now so it’s nice to have that option too if there is a next time!

  4. It took me 13 months to even get my cycle back and I’ve been hoping for #2 since K was 9 months or so. I too am hoping I’m “fixed” (no longer broken).

    The video is super cute. You’ll look back in a year and be amazed at how many things he will be doing then compared to now. I remember that it was between 6-8 weeks that K started to feel like a real little person with expressions and everything.

  5. I guess I am really odd, because it always surprises me when people who struggle to have one child (and desire at least two children) use contraception to delay a second pregnancy. I hope that it all works out as perfectly (healthfully!) as possible for you, but even if that means two very close together, I’d think that people would think that was awesome since it is not as if you will be neglecting proper nutrients for your body.

    Also, what is up with crazy-advanced baby development?! I guess I don’t know much about babies because 6 weeks seems early to be rolling over, and I was shocked to see clips of my 7-month old niece pulling herself up onto furniture and use it for support to walk around. I strongly suggest that you tell Sam to slow down or you may be dealing with the same thing very soon. ;-)

  6. I hear you on people wondering about next pregnancies … I heard all the way through (even from Luke’s birth family) about how now that we have him, we’ll probably get pregnant. Ummm, seriously? I used to get really upset, but had to stop and think about they probably didn’t know what to say. I’d probably say the same dumb thing, etc.
    My MIL did say she was glad I had Luke now b/c it was hard to not talk about babies with me and she was tired of having to watch what she said around me. It was a little upsetting, but what can I do? (sigh)
    I hope you are blessed with a child again without having to wait a long time again. Samuel needs a playmate. :-)
    LOVE the videos!!!

  7. You girls are all the same.

    Love the gazillion pictures on the side of the blog that no one can avoid.

    What was that you said awhile back? You still hurt because we’re hurting? Sure…

    Anyway, you got your baby. That’s all that really matters, right?

    • My blog formatting has been so messed up for a while. I realized that it had changed to make my birth story the default post on my side bar, not what I wanted to have greet people when they came by. I switched it to this one spontaneously to just get rid of that one since it was the only template that wouldn’t do something similar. There’s a bug in there I haven’t yet been able to figure out. Hopefully I can soon so it will stop upsetting people!

Leave a Reply

