Shocking

I just got off the phone with the Family Life Coordinator of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles, the largest diocese in the United States, which serves almost 5 million Catholics.

That’s like, an insane number.

And do you know how many Catholic infertility support groups she knows of?

None.  Not a single one.

There are support groups for widows and separated/divorcées, but none for couples suffering from infertility.

I’m still in shock, but realizing how desperate this need is.   Much bigger than I had any idea about.

So for anyone who thinks this is “just another problem” you can have that’s not any worse than any other problem, clearly it isn’t if we can’t even talk about it.

I’m still in shock.

15 thoughts on “Shocking

  1. From what I have heard there is a HUGE need there for instructors. Did she mention a need for NFP instructors? My guess is that when no one is really talking about NFP, talking about infertility isn’t going to happen… Why? There is IUI and IVF, right?

    Very sad. They are blessed to have you.

  2. Add me to the list with PPIW and TCIE.

    Oh, and I have one more thing on my ‘to do’ list – ‘make sure there is an infertility support group in WV.’ I have NO idea if there is one, but there will be! (Hey, you and Mike could move here! Ok, maybe not? A girl has to try, right?)

  3. Shocked as well. Really? I can’t help but wonder if there is someone else that “would know” about outreach for support groups! Hmmmmm. Disturbing indeed! :(

  4. Pingback: Holy Family Support Group | Matching Moonheads

Leave a Reply

