Piled Higher and Deeper

That’s me right now.  Trying to get the final results so I can graduate.

Its also the name of Jorge Cham’s PhD comic series.  He was a graduate student that basically found a lot of success writing comics about grad school life and eventually giving basically stand up routines using the comics.  He came to our university last year and gave a talk on the Power of Procrastination and seriously, it was awesome. The man has brilliantly motivated many a graduate student by helping us realize that this whole experience is just part of it all.  My favorite was during the Q&A after he gave the talk and one girl asked him “So, like seriously, what do you do with your PhD. now?” (He graduated from Stanford in Mechanical Engineering).

“Umm, this.”

His point?  Pay attention to what your procrastinate on.  He wrote comics in grad school and look what he’s doing now.  It helped me sort a lot of life questions out for myself (though I don’t claim to be done).  We also gave him a couple ideas for comics we’re still waiting to see on his site…ha!  If you know a graduate student, I highly recommend gifting them a book!  (If they haven’t procrastinated away on the website already…)

Anyway, here are a few comics that I’m finding particularly entertaining now:

And if you didn’t laugh at those…well…this is probably why!

9 thoughts on “Piled Higher and Deeper

  1. Bahaha! Definitely can’t personally relate, but I know enough post-grad graduates (is that redundant?) to get the humor!

    Btw – your comment on Megan’s blog in reaction to her pregnancy news was brilliant! It could’ve been me writing that! :)

  2. Um, where have you been all my life?! Eight LONG years and I am just now finding out about this?! Love it. You made my day. Am seriously restraining myself not to read beyond your post given my dissertation is due Friday. Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Love these. Just discovered your blog recently from another NFP blog, but I am also a PhD dropout and can relate. Those cartoons are too funny!

  4. I get these. Ha. When I was in school both under and grad my procrastination manifested in me helping everyone else out with their disertations…the farther a friend’s major was to mine the better. I once spent a night making Greek costumes out of black lace for a roommate who had a final exam in costume exam the next day in order to avoid my own paper that was due. She got an A by the way.

    Making black lace costumes for a Greek Tragedy, her teacher apparently spoke about “the work” for years afterwards.

    Ha!

    So, in summary, I learned that what I like to do is BE DISTRACTED and help others to learn.

    Translation to $$$ this is why I ended up a librarian I can help others find research and do their thesis etc, etc, and I never have to settle on one subject.

    Dilatente. Yep, that’s me.

  5. i love phd comics! i procrastinate by watching tv and reading blogs… i wonder if i could do that full time?

Leave a Reply

