Why is negative inspiration stronger?

I’ve realized that I rarely write in my blog when I’m really happy.  It is not my impulse to write when I’m happy (although I occasionally do get it) but rather, just enjoy the moment of being happy.  Usually I finally get around to writing something after I’ve had a thought in my mind so long that won’t go away and I just need to work through it in order to 1) get it out so it will stop bothering me or 2) to figure out why I am feeling a certain way.  Negative or bothersome thoughts are the ones that make it out more easily, because I really want to stop thinking about them.  Happy, fun thoughts I want to keep around so I don’t have the same impulse to “get them out already” on my blog.  I realize this may skew my writings to make me seem more negative than I am in reality.  I’m really a pretty happy, goofy person!  I know that’s convincing if I have to tell you.  I’ve noticed that I’ve done this all my life in diaries too: write more when I’m upset.

Apparently, being unsettled is my muse.

Anyways, I know this will be hard to change, but I guess its good I recognize it.  I hate the idea of putting only negativity out into the internets and although that has been my tendency, especially as I work through issues relating to my sub-feritlity,  I’m going to try to balance it is a little better.

Starting with…more knitting projects!  I’ve made a couple more things I hope to have pictures up of soon.  And fortunately for me it was cold enough recently to actually wear them!

10 thoughts on “Why is negative inspiration stronger?

  1. ooo…knitting projects and pictures! I’m looking forward to that. I still need to write my final knitting post on what I learned through my class. I’m looking forward to reading and seeing more from you.

  2. I was talking with DH about this a couple of nights ago. Negative thoughts/comments tend to make better conversation, so that’s what people mostly talk about. It’s like if you go to this restaurant and you get awful service, you’ll probably tell at least 10 people. But if it’s normal service and you liked it, you might tell one person. I think everyone has to make a conscious effort to be more positive. And kudos to you on the knitting projects! Can’t wait to see the pictures :)

  3. Oh, all of my best writing was done in my darkest days. I don’t think there is anything unusual about that. You’ve never heard of someone being eaten up on the inside with happy feelings, right? I’ve rarely been motivated to write about the happy moments in life. I’m too busy enjoying them, and I’m sure you are too.

    • I think you’re right on here. For me its more about being “eaten up” and consumed by thoughts that trouble me and needing to get them out. And yes, I’m too busy sharing the fun moments with friends. I think this is also why I’m so bad at documenting events with my camera! I always forget to!

  4. I think that’s why I enjoy some of the blog carnivals out there – they lighten things up.

    I think we tend to put the tough stuff out here in the blogosphere because we hope to find some encouragement or reassurance that we are not alone. And the process of typing it out does help so much in understanding my own thoughts.

    I don’t know about you, but I have a slew of unpublished posts that have become a journal for me. I’ve never kept a journal before, and I put it out there for both reasons listed above. BUT, I also have started using the ‘draft’ feature as a way to journal for myself and there is something about the similarity of the process in creating a post that will never be posted and one that will be that helps me to get it out in a way I just can’t seem to do if I open a word document or paper journal.

    And I find myself wondering if any of this makes sense?

  5. So true.

    I learned how to knit a couple years ago, and I love it! Before I moved, I was making hats and scarves for homeless individuals through a church group. There is something about knitting that is so soothing. When you add prayer to the task, it is very therapeutic and powerful!

  6. Very true, especially for journals. I use them for my bad moods to get it out and don’t plan to reread so I don’t need to balance it. I guess it’s more important to do that when it’s a blog that many people have access to. Looking forward to seeing your new creations

  7. I find writing very therapeutic. Although I like doing it in a journal where I can say whatever I want and not have to worry about being judged or freaking people out! :) I am grateful for people like you who are not afraid to say how they are really feeling.

  8. Pingback: The state of blogging | Matching Moonheads

Leave a Reply

