Summary of 2010

I’ve felt no desire to blog lately, probably because I’ve been very happily enjoying the holidays with both of our families.  I thought a nice little 2010 summary would be in order, although as a rule I never do these things, it did seem like a good idea to reflect on this past year before I start another one.  I got this one from Kacie.  I’ll be back to blogging soon if I figure out something important to say!

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Live in a foreign country with my husband.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I have a bad memory…I don’t think that I did, other than to take my vitamins everyday.  I did a decent job at it, once I found out how to take them all in an order that didn’t make me nauseous.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Too many friends to count.  But no family members.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
my grandma
5. What places did you visit?
california, toronto, new hampshire, mexico, oklahoma
6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
a PhD.  HA how’s that for surprising?!  I need to finish this phase of my life.
7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Mother’s Day – my grandma died.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I proposed my thesis in April.  And I survived this year.  I’m happy with that.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Not keeping my mouth shut when I should have.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No!  Thank the Lord.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
Spanish classes.  Mucho dinero, but they helped us out a lot and gave us a smoother transition to Mexico.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My husband because he became the first Dr. Moonhead.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Ahh, careful waters here, but watching loved ones repeatedly choose materialism over marriage and family probably depresses me the most.  Its hard not to take offense when you really really believe in something and others just, don’t.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Mortage and spanish classes.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Moving to Mexico.
16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
Pa Panamericano.  Riding a little pesero in Mexico thinking, is this song for real?! And then coming back to the states and finding it an international sensation.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Happier.  I’ve learned I’m stronger than I knew I could be.
b) thinner or fatter?
The same?  Despite operation increase BMI.  I need to work harder.
c) richer or poorer?
Poorer in money, richer in experiences :)
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Laugh.  Study Spanish.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Thinking my life was going to be over.  Worrying about what my adviser would think of me.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
In California with the in-laws.  My first Christmas away from my parents.
21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
With my husband, yes.  I don’t think falling in love is a one time thing.
22. What was your favorite TV program?
Profugas del Destino, a Mexican soap opera about, get this, 3 female inmates that escape prison, pose as nuns that died in a horrible car accident, and then all the drama they get themselves into.  Its too good to be true!
23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I don’t think I really hate anyone.    I have let go of a few grudges.
24. What was the best book you read?
I’m still reading it….St. Faustina.
25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Drake?  Ha.
26. What did you want and get?
Opportunity to move to Mexico.
27. What did you want and not get?
My adviser’s blessing to come to Mexico.
28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Finally saw Inception.  That was way better than the other few movies I saw (Predators and Tron….something else…)
29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 26 and we drove to Galveston.  It rained but I got a massage  :)
30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
ahhh, well.  I’m sure at this point its obvious.  I’d take a glimpse into the future, to see with my own eyes that everything works out.
31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
It would be, Don’t buy anymore clothes and try to wear everything that’s in the closet in new combinations or just get rid of it already.
32. What kept you sane?
Oohh…good question.  Honestly, what kept me sane was being apart from my husband during that time in the fall.  It was hard and I wouldn’t recommend it as a solution to all life’s problems – especially martial ones, but I had just gotten too wrapped up in trying to make a square peg fit a round hole and only in being apart was I able to see that and refocus on what is truly a non-negotiable in my life.
33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Next.
34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Immigration.
35. Who did you miss?
I miss who I used to be.  I miss being thrilled beyond belief when I heard about a pregnancy announcement.  I miss not being consumed with my own issues.   I know I’m ever growing into a new person, but still.  I miss that girl and her innocence.
36. Who was the best new person you met?
Best new person?  That’s a little vague.  I would have to say, it would probably be the other couples and women that I’ve “met” online and in real life that have given me valuable wisdom in dealing with in/subfertility.
37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
So cliche, but – When God closes a door he opens a window.  Don’t stand starting at that closed door so long you can’t figure out how to get out.  That and that all I really need to do is get through today.
38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

You know me,
Oh you think you do you, you just don’t seem to see
I’ve been waiting all this time to be
Something I can’t define so let’s
Cause a scene
Clap our hands and stomp our feet or something
Yeah something
I’ve just got to get myself over me

The Format The First Single

9 thoughts on “Summary of 2010

  1. Yay! Hadn’t heard from your blog in a long while. Enjoyed your ’10 summary and am feeling slightly compelled to fill one out myself (okay, I desperately want to procrastinate from the editing that I SHOULD be doing ;).

  2. Fun to see this. :) This year I met a Chinese immigrant who decided to teach herself spanish by watching Mexican soap operas. She said she got hooked and the sound on her TV broke, but she didn’t know spanish anyways so she still watches them on silent and says she knows exactly what’s happening. Hilarious. :)

    • EXACTLY. !his is so true! My husband will try to translate for me and I’m like, “Honey, that was obvious that he cheated on her by the way she smacked him.” Ha!

  3. 35. Who did you miss?
    I miss who I used to be. I miss being thrilled beyond belief when I heard about a pregnancy announcement. I miss not being consumed with my own issues. I know I’m ever growing into a new person, but still. I miss that girl and her innocence.

    DITTO THIS

  4. Our similarities continue… I am working on #17b also… And I taught myself how to knit like you, but I never tried to make socks. My mittens turned out pretty well though. :)

Leave a Reply

