Only say the word

Yesterday marked the start of Advent, the period of preparation preceding the Christmas and the birth of Christ.  We wait in preparation of what glory is to come.  I’ve been waiting to wait for this.  Does that make sense?  It seems that waiting is my natural state these days, so it only seems natural that we’d have a world-wide recognized liturgical season to make it feel more like a group effort :)

One of my favorite lines during the the Mass is after the Rite of communion, before the congregation is invited to come up to receive the Eucharist.

Fr: This is the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world.

Happy are those who are called to his supper.

Lord I am not worthy to receive you, but only say the word and I shall be healed.

How simple and beautiful.  The definition of humility.  I feel like I could ponder this line forever.  Today I am struck by what a great mystery the Eucharist is and how we are all so unworthy.  No one is ever “holy” enough to literally receive the Lord, now into their body  or once upon a time, into their home.  How could we be!  It is only through pure faith, only by His will, that it is or was even permissible.

So beautiful.


In other news, Advent Prayer Buddies started up again.  I don’t know if its possible to have such amazing results as last time, but I know I can pray for my buddy with more faith than I had then.  Maybe God will surprise us all.  

9 thoughts on “Only say the word

  1. How strange…my Minute Meditatons e-mail today reflected on that very verse!
    My brain and heart have been chewing on it all morning…

    “(Is 4:2-6; Mt 8:5-11) Isn’t it wonderful that the prayer we all offer before receiving the body and blood of Christ comes from a so-called pagan? In his humility, the Roman centurion insists that Jesus can cure his servant without even traveling to his bedside. This man’s faith amazes Jesus and frees him to fulfill it.

    — from Catholic Update”

    • oops, caught in a lie. That’s totally not my advent wreath. The one I made last year is packed up in a closet while we celebrate advent in different locations. boo hoo.

  2. Funny; I, too, have been waiting to wait in Advent. :)

    I’ve spent a lot of time pondering those words you highlight myself. And now with the changes coming, I love them even more: “Lord, I am not worthy to receive you under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed.” You are right, we are absolutely NOT worthy, yet He wants us to go to Him…He chooses us. I tend to think of the time when we receive the Blessed Sacrament not as us receiving Him, but He receives and consumes us. We are not worthy, and yet He still wants us.

    Thank you for the beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

