The other thing I miss about Mexico

I get to visit the hubby in a few days (SO EXCITED) and I must admit one of the other things I’m really looking forward to is the guayaba juice.  Don’t worry though, as much as I love this juice, it definitely ranks in at a far second on the list of “things I miss from Mexico”, after my husband of course :)  I usually bought it, but one day I got adventurous when I noticed this in our fully furnished apartment:

Its pretty huge, so its kind of hard not to notice.  I didn’t know what it was at first (torture device?) but when I opened it up, I realized it was a juicer!

Thats when I got excited, ran to the store, and bought some little guayabas to try to recreate my most favorite juice ever.  It couldn’t be that hard, right?  So first I washed them.


And then I dried them and sliced them.

And this is where it got tricky (and where everything got sticky, so I have no more pictures!).  I don’t know if they weren’t ripe enough or what (I think the juice is supposed to be more pink?) but they didn’t quite “juice” like I thought they would.  It was more of a squish-turned-pulpy-mush movement.  So I diluted the pulpy-mush with water, strained out as many seeds as I could, and added a little sugar and eventually came up with this!

My mouth is just watering thinking about this.  I don’t know if I’ll have time to make any juice when I’m back for this trip, but I will be sure to enjoy some store bought juice at least!

3 thoughts on “The other thing I miss about Mexico

Leave a Reply

