Sunday Reflections – 8/8/10

With our move to Mexico coming up in about two weeks, I’ve realized that listening to Mass in Spanish each week may not allow me to get all that I can out of it.  I’ve written before how Spanish Mass was actually integral in my conversion, as it gave me a lot of time to reflect on the true presence and what partaking in communion means.  Who knows, maybe I’m wrong and it will be like it was before Vatican II and everything was in Latin, but I do like to understand the readings and reflect on them with the help of the homily.  But being in a Spanish speaking country, I realize that I’m going to have to put in a lot of extra time to do this on my own.  So I’m planning getting a Missal (spelling?) in both Spanish and English, reading it on my own in English as well as going to Spanish Mass, and then writing a little reflection on here to make sure I’m “actively participating”

We’re not in Mexico yet, but I thought I’d start this week, since I thought of the idea.

Reading 1: Wis 18:6-9

Responsorial Psalm: Ps 33:1, 12, 18-19, 20-22

Reading 2: Heb 11:1-2, 8-19

Gospel: Lk 12:32-48

These readings really focused on faith, which was very timely.  These readings screamed “Hey you people desiring children, have faith and it will be done!” but that’s surprisingly not what stood out to me the most.  It seemed too obvious.  I’m realizing that our God sometimes works in the less obvious ways.  These words from the second reading stood out to me:

All these died in faith.
They did not receive what had been promised
but saw it and greeted it from afar
and acknowledged themselves to be strangers and aliens on earth,
for those who speak thus show that they are seeking a homeland.
If they had been thinking of the land from which they had come,
they would have had opportunity to return.
But now they desire a better homeland, a heavenly one.
Therefore, God is not ashamed to be called their God,
for he has prepared a city for them.

So, wait, they didn’t get what was promised?  This made me think about all the people that were ever a part of large change in history that never got to see the realization of what they were working for.  Whether it was the Egyptians that died wandering in the desert, refugees that didn’t make it out of an occupied land, or immigrants coming to America that died along the journey.  While individual people may not have actually seen the final goal realized here on Earth, the whole group eventually did get where they were going and history reflects that.  It makes me think of the big picture, and how the role we play won’t always (or ever) a leader role, a person enjoying the glory here on Earth. But I know that as the mystical body of Christ we’ll all eventually see the glory in Heaven and that’s ultimately what matters.

Anyway, nothing too Earth shattering.  Just a nice reminder.

*I’m not a Biblical scholar, so these little writings will just be what my thoughts are in response to the readings.  Not trying to claim to know more than I do! Only to know how these are speaking to me at the moment.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Reflections – 8/8/10

  1. Wonderful reflection, I’m going to look forward to these during your time in Mexico. I also agree with your conclusions; while Martin Luther King Jr’s “I have a dream” speech is/was amazing the one I find most stirring is “I have been to the mountaintop”, and as a third woman is appointed to the bench ~ I think of Susan B Anthony who never cast a legal vote in her life, and hope that they somehow/someway know of the fruits harvested of their struggles.

  2. This is wonderful! I am really glad that you are doing this and will look forward to it each week. It is funny how we can be hit so differently by the readings, and it is great to have my attention drawn to something that I didn’t focus on (I was stuck on Luke!).

  3. I really resonated with your practice of reflecting on the readings of the day this way. I’m a frustrated homilist, and my secret practice is to read the readings in advance and then focus on what lesson I would homilize on, if that were my duty. Sometime I more or less compose a whole homily in my head. Then it’s fun to hear what the priest or deacon has to say. It’s always different–mine is usually better! Well, not really. But what I covertly “preach” is usually what I myself need to hear!

    Are you familiar with the little montly publication called “Magnificat”? It has the readings of each and every mass for all the days of each month. There’s a blurb on the saint of the day, and often there are reflections on the readings by that saint or another prominent Christian.

Leave a Reply

