8 month vacation…

Since I last posted about trying to determine what a blessing is, I’ve come to the conclusion that blessings are things/people/events that God places in your life to make your life journey possible and eventually lead you to Heaven.  These may be things that make your journey easier, but they might not.  They may make your journey harder to help purify you (think LOST!) but hey, maybe that takes time off Purgatory!  They might be things that just direct you further along the path you’re supposed to be on.  So, ultimately we won’t really be able to determine if something was a blessing or not until after the fact (like peak day!).  Which makes it a great idea to err on the side of caution and take everything as a blessing :)  Yay, finally an answer that satisfies me!  And what a blessing I just figured that out! (Har har har…)

Ok, but seriously, while it has become abundantly clear to me that I’m not on the path that I thought I would be on at this point in my life (come on, we discerned leaving an NFP study after much prayer to have a child who has yet to arrive…), there have been signs along the way, if you will, that God is blessing us abundantly throughout this journey in spite of my feelings.  The most obvious one to me is the fact that we’re now moving to…..

…..MEXICO!

Aye aye aye!

We’re moving in August!  My amazingly smart and gifted and talented  and industrious (I could go on!) husband applied for a grant to work on a project there last fall and we were notified that he got it!  AND we’re accepting it!

Ok, I can tell by your reaction that all you’re think right now is, Mexico?  Are you kidding?  Do you not read the news? Yes, I do read the news, and yes, I am aware there is a drug war going on. But I also know that there are preventable things that a traveler can do to keep themselves safe while abroad, like choosing not to go to the areas that are most affected by the violence (such as the boarder).  And having a rich brother who has volunteered his services to post kidnap bail (which we will hopefully never use). I am also aware that I currently live in a city and in a neighborhood that is pretty dangerous as well, so, maybe I’ll keep taking my chances just a little longer?

Ok, if I sound ridiculously happy and annoying, I apologize, but its because I am.

I’m tired of feeling like I’m waiting for life to start.

I’m tired of waiting to put all of this behind me.

And this affirms that life has started for us.  Our “real world” may never look like the typical one, but its ours. I love to travel and I love learning new languages, so I am completely convinced that God has aligned this perfectly to allow this to happen.  While we were originally planning on having a child to take with us to Mexico, in reality this may have been a little overzealous. (Just for the record:  we would pass up Mexico any day for a baby!)

And what if we get pregnant while we’re there?  Then it worked! Haha.  Well, we’ll wait and see if that happens to make plans right, but we can cut our trip short due to extenuating circumstances or we’ll have the little guy there :)

(And also just to clarify, it won’t really be 8 months of vacation for me…entirely…I will be doing research abroad while down there, just with better scenery than my normal lab!)

7 thoughts on “8 month vacation…

  1. Well, I have only one concern: will you still blog? If so, then YAY! ;-)

    Actually, even if you’re killing your blog I’d still be happy for you.

  2. oh yay! What part of Mexico will you be in? Eric and I went to Puerto Vallarta for our honeymoon, and it was beautiful and perfect! If you get the chance to go there, do it!

    I second Rae’s question: will you still blog?!? ;)

  3. So exciting, I am happy for you! And I promise I am not ignoring your email, my gmail is being stupid and it won’t even let me open it! Hopefully I can fix it. Just didn’t want you to think I was ignoring you!

  4. Yay! Congrats to Mike and I can’t wait to read all about your adventure. Though I am very sad that you will not be in TX when I am :(. I’ll just have to go visit my brother when you get back!

  5. Wow! That’s a big move and very exciting! Can’t wait to hear about it. How’s the Rosetta Stone program? That is something that I might be interested in.

Leave a Reply

