The BIG move

Don’t let me anywhere near WordPress and a touch-screen camera phone! Trying to upload photos for a trip recap/explanation of my absence and I post prematurely.  Whoops!  My apologies.  But maybe I can try to go with the flow and be all artsy with this post and include minimal words now that the cat is out of the bag visually?  And yes, pictures of my child are included here because he was VERY much a part of our 11 day, 2 car road trip, no DVD player road trip (not intentionally, don’t think we think we’re better than a portable DVD player on a cross-country drive.  we had one and it got packed accidentally and we just thought we’d see how far we could go before we caved and bought another one. and we made it!)

image

Last house picture, at least on my phone.  Turns out it was just a house afterall…we made it our home :)  It was a really nice house though.

image

image

I thought this was funny…making the sodas into little chairs was great rest stop entertainment.

image

Arizona!

image

The Grand Canyon was there somewhere….

image

More interested in my phone than the wonder of the world behind us.

image

This country is beautiful!

image

New Mexico?  I start to miss the signs in here somewhere.  I think we drove through 13 states total.

image

Entertaining Sammy in an Urban Outfitters in Albuquerque while Mike met up with an old bud at his work’s happy hour.  Whew!  Unfortunately, we left without Boo.

image

Meeting Great-Grandpa.  Making the drive completely. worth it.

image

Missouri!  And here is where my phone camera decided to DIE for two days (it does that) and I completely missed all photographic evidence of my trip with this amazing woman.  A beautiful respite from the drive at her domestic oasis where we were treated like kings!

image

Our longest day, we SOMEHOW drove straight from St. Louis to Indianapolis in ONE LEG and made it to the zoo for an awesome stop to stretch our legs, see some animals, and cry at the walruses.  It was hot.

image

Corn.

image

Yes. This.

image

And…here is the location of the lowest moment of the trip…the scene of the crime almost too horrible to put into words…imagine…no, I just can’t. Imagine the worst thing that can happen with you and your child’s excrement while you can’t reach them in the front seat.  Oh. Dear. God.  30 min from our destination after the longest day (10 hrs of driving).  Naturally, I wanted to remember this moment forever.

image

But I did turn around and snap a beautiful picture of Amish country to erase the memory of what I had just witnessed.

image

At my cousin’s house in Ohio, with her twins, eating SPAGHETTI (which you’re SUPPOSED to eat).  Twins run in our family and both of my cousin’s pregnancies were twins (in the first pregnancy one passed away in utero).  I think she may qualify was Super Fertile, what do you think Amy?

image

West Virginia!  Sooooo close! And where we stopped to see THIS amazing lady!  Where again, I have no photographic evidence of because I was having Too Much Fun, and apparently I only take pictures when I’m bored!

image

And we made it!

image

Five days later…our stuff came!  And I directed the movers where to put everything with a baby strapped to my back because you just have to get it done.  And after everything we’ve been through, we were happy to find a local brewery a few steps from our house.

image

Because we just need some relaxing time now. Whew.

I hope to get back to finishing my series here soon!  Only 6 boxes left to unpack… (that’s upstairs….everything else went straight to the basement).

9 thoughts on “The BIG move

  1. So did you end up in West Virginia? I must have missed whatever the final destination was to be. But yay for seeing Rebecca and Elizabeth! So cool. Glad the trip was uneventful (of the bad sort of events). :)

  2. Yay!!! I think you should just hit “publish” more often :)!

    I have photographic evidence you were here – I’ll send it your way :)!

    I love that we share a time zone now :)!

    Hmm, one more sentence that ends with a smiley and an exclamation point? I think so :)!

  3. Wow I felt like I just went in that road trip with you, minus the horror of the excrement explosion. I love that Sam was using the sodas as a seat and he didn’t even care about the grand canyon, haha! So glad y’all made it there safely maybe when we come visit we will take a road trip there :)

  4. So fun! I cannot imagine spending that much time in the car…with a 1 year old!!!

    IT was so awesome to meet you and you family out East when we visited!!! You are all so sweet!!!

Leave a Reply

